Founders’ Regatta 2022

After an absence of three long years, the Alberta sailboat racing community descended upon WSC for the 2022 edition of our main annual open regatta on June 11 and 12. The weather could not have been better.
It was sunny but not too warm, winds were breezy but not too challenging. A total of 50 competitors in 43 boats enjoyed the classic Wabamun westerly winds. A total of 14 sailors were WSC members. They all acquitted themselves well, but I salute the WSC “medalists”: Barry Tee first in ILCA 6, Mark Bugiak second in ILCA 7, and James Brown and Jim Bohun second in the open class in a 5o5. Seven races were completed in all classes. It was particularly cheering to see some of the more mature racers holding their own against the young hot-shots on the race course.

This was WSC’s first “paperless” open regatta. Everything was handled online. Needless to say the young people figured everything out easily. Some of us older folks were a bit challenged, but once you get the hang of it you realize that registration before and communications during the regatta are much easier and quicker with this system.

The weekend started with a presentation and coaching by Pat Healy on Friday June 10, courtesy of ASA. Mr. Healy is an international level Sailing Judge. Mr Healy was a marvelous source of knowledge on sailboat racing and interpretation of the rules. Pat has been a coach of the Canadian Olympic Sailing team through four Olympic cycles, and he has coached four boats to Olympic medals. He also served for nine years as the sailing coach at the US Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland. It was delightful to have Mr. Healy at the club for three days, his participation was well appreciated.

Thanks to all the competitors, volunteers, parents, coaches and everyone else who helped make this regatta a success.

Rick Stroppel, Rear Commodore, Regatta Chairperson, 2022 Founders’ Regatta


Winners in the ILCA 7 Class
Phil (3), Issac (1), Mark (2)

Winners in the ILCA 6 Class
Ariana (2), Barry (1), Erin (3)

Winner in the ILCA 4 Fleet

Winner in the Optimist Fleet

Winners in the Open Fleet
Greg/Debbie (1), James/Jim (2)